Customer reviews for Just For Men Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Just for Men.

Just For Men Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond

Targets only the gray hair. Replaces it with subtle tones. Matches your own natural color in 5 easy minutes. No damaging ammonia and special conditioners protect hair while you color.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
100
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
Recommended by 142 out of 15790%of reviewers loved this product!
Customer reviews for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Review 1 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedFebruary 9, 2014

Color Does Not Last As Long As Old Formulation

Customer avatar
JamesMartinez
fromCalifornia, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
Color only lasts a couple of weeks and the quantity does not provide full coverage even though I have short hair.
Please bring back the old formulation. In the meantime, I will cancel my subscription to get these products on a regular basis and research for a replacement product until then.
ProsEasy to use
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, quantity not enough to provide full coverage
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJanuary 26, 2014

No drip formula ruined JFM

Customer avatar
miketek
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:40%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been using this product for years with no issues with good results until now. In my recent experience, the "no drip" formula is terrible and the results are unacceptable. I will stop using the product unless I can locate the old formula or JFM offers the old formula as an alternative.
ProsEasy to use
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, hair feels gunky after use
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedDecember 19, 2013

New "No Drip" formula

Customer avatar
rick71
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using this product for years with no issues and acceptable results until now. In my recent experience, the "no drip" formula is terrible. It would barely come out of the bottle. I will stop using the JFM product unless I can locate the pre no drip formula.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJanuary 15, 2013

DIDN'T WORK FOR ME! ACTUALLY MADE FACIAL HAIR DARKER

Customer avatar
Savage
fromBergen, NJ, USA
Age:25-34
Percentage of Grey:Less than 10%
Length of Use:1st Time
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
None
All
None
i did exactly as the directions stated, left it in for 5 minutes & then rinsed...... my mustache & beard came out darker rather than lighter. I have some more creams in the tubes so i will attempt the process a few times, every other day.. But from my one use, i am not happy at all. i'm only 26 so obviously no grey hairs yet, but i'm trying to somewhat match my dark blonde, very light brown facial hair to my natural dirty blonde head of hair.
ProsNo Mess
Consdoesn't work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesJanuary 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Just For Men is not designed to lighten hair color. Its sole purpose is to cover gray hair, matching the gray with your natural hair color.

When you have a moment, please call us at 1-800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday or 9AM – 1:30PM on Fridays.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedSeptember 6, 2012

Did Not Work As Expected

Customer avatar
NJcustomer
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:1st Time
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
My hair use to be a sandy blond color. Now I am about 80% white with much less hair. Blond hair turns white while black hair goes gray, for the most part.
I let this product sit on my hair for about 15 minutes. Added extra agent to the white areas after 7 minutes.
I had mixed feelings on the results. My wife and daughter can home and did not notice that I attempted to colored my hair. I told them what I did after waiting 3 hours for a comment.
No sure I would use this again but I remain open minded.
ProsEasy to use, No Mess
ConsDoesn't get rid of enough gray, Too Light
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedFebruary 6, 2014

I like old product better

Customer avatar
KevinCarson
fromCarson City NV
Percentage of Grey:20%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
50%
All
50%
I am looking for old product it works much better this one makes hair to dark I still works but the old product was better
ProsWorks Fast
ConsToo Dark
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer Resources (800)431-2610February 10, 2014
Thanks for letting us know what happened. We would like to help. Repeated shampoos should be helpful in lightening the color. You may also wish to mix 1 ounce of regular 3% hydrogen peroxide with 1 ounce of shampoo (any brand of dandruff, medicated or clarifying shampoo is best). Lather your hair with the mixture and leave the lather on for 5 minutes before rinsing. This will lighten the color a little each time. You can repeat it twice the first day and then once daily until your hair is sufficiently lightened. Make sure the hydrogen peroxide is 3%.

We recommend you go one shade lighter for your next application.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedJanuary 25, 2014

Not the same

Customer avatar
Halbert
fromTX
Age:55-64
Color Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product for years and have been very happy with it, but recently it looks as though they have changed the formula. It no longer gives the coverage or color it used to. I will be switching products. Sad...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedDecember 30, 2013

Something changed

Customer avatar
Columbo
fromCanton, GA, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using this product for years.. loved it . This past week I used it and see that now you must comb it in instead of lather it in. It did not cover as well and was a mess to use.. Something has changed but not sure what?
ConsStains Skin, changed formula
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2013

Too much guesswork

Customer avatar
wasil
fromEaston, MD
Age:Over 65
Percentage of Grey:90%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Some
All
Some
Leave it on too long and the hair gets too dark. Shampoo it out too soon and it doesn't cover anything. The user has to guess when it's time to wash out the product. How many times do I have to use this before I find the correct amount of time to leave it on?
I want a product that darkens to the level of the picture on the box and goes no further.
ProsEasy to use
ConsGets rid of too much gray, Doesn't get rid of enough gray, Too Dark, Too Light
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesSeptember 13, 2013
We can only imagine how frustrating and disappointing this experience was for you. Your comments will help us to evaluate and improve our products and services. We would love to talk to you to find out why this happened. When you have a moment, please call us at 1-800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday or 9AM – 1:30PM on Fridays.

+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedJune 29, 2013

Does not wash off on the skin easily anymore

Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I have been using this product for at least 7 years. Of late, I noticed the Just For Men no longer easily washes off the skin anymore.
In the past if you rinse and wash any stains on the forehead or hands they go away pretty easily with soap and water. Now after a shower, I have to use rubbing alcohol to take unsightly stains off my skin. Also, in the past if any small droplets are on sink, one can wipe off with soap and water. But this is not the case anymore. Not sure if the formula for the product has changed. I am getting unsatisfied pretty soon if I do not get any answers ....
ProsColor looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray
ConsStains Skin, Messy, Drip/Runs, stain sinks tubs. watch out plastic materials.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesJuly 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The best way to ensure hair dye does not stain is to prevent it from getting on your skin. You can protect your hairline and neck by applying a thin, even layer of petroleum jelly or conditioner to the area. As these products are typically oil based, they prevent the dye from sticking to your skin and are easily washed off when rinsing the color from your hair.

There are a few home and store remedies; Any kind of ashes (cigarette, BBQ, fireplace, etc) - mix into a thick paste with a little water, rub onto the stains then wipe away with a damp cloth. You can also try hydrogen peroxide, toothpaste, astringent, cold cream, a hair coloring stain remover (can be found in the hair coloring section of a drug store), or rubbing alcohol.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedJune 19, 2012

the color of my hair changed to......

Customer avatar
versguy2002
Age:35-44
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
50%
All
50%
strawberry blonde?! My hair is dark blonde,so this shade didnt work. I cant find dark blonde in a supermarket, so I will have to order it here. Also, i have to leave the product around my temples,where the grey is, for at least 10 minutes to cover the grey.
ProsEasy to use, No Mess
ConsDoesn't get rid of enough gray, changes hair to an odd shade of blonde
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedFebruary 5, 2014

not sure what happened

Customer avatar
buckslayerone
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
50%
All
50%
new no drip does not work as good as old formula, i will now try different product, unless they give us men a option on shelf,( old formula, or new)untill then ,, got to shop for different product
ProsNo Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, Doesn't get rid of enough gray
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesFebruary 10, 2014
We would love to talk to you to find out why you did not receive satisfactory results. When you have a moment, please call us at 1-800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday EST or 9AM – 1:30PM EST on Fridays.

As an alternative, you can try our no-mix Just For Men AutoStop product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedDecember 11, 2013

Easy to use - consistent results

Customer avatar
BobW
fromColorado, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:100%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
I like the new formulation is that it is easier to apply. I get consistent, good looking results, but it does not seem to last quite as long or cover my stubborn areas of gray quite as well.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, Doesn't get rid of enough gray
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedApril 19, 2013

Colors normal hair great. Gray hair, not so much.

Customer avatar
cwbybrick
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Age:35-44
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Some
All
Some
You deleted my previous review with the before and after pictures? Bad form.
The product is easy to use, however, does not color or cover gray. Maybe I have different gray beard than other men, but it doesn't take the color. If I soften the hairs first with hydrogen peroxide first, the gray beard does hold some of the color, otherwise, the product only covers the non-gray hairs a darker color. I have to re-color every 4-6 days.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, Doesn't get rid of enough gray
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesApril 23, 2013
To view your March 5, 2013 post with photos, please click into the following link:

http://www.justformen.com/products/...

Based on your beard shade in the photo, we strongly recommend you use Dark Blond for adequate gray coverage. We have found that if you have 50% gray or more, choose a shade closest to your natural hair color.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedApril 10, 2013

To runny. Drips and is hard to control.

Customer avatar
Felipe33
fromEastpointe, MI, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:70%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I have used this product for years. It does a good job of covering my gray hairs. The product does not last long and within a few days it starts to get lighter in color and most of the time my hair turns a light shade of red within two weeks and another application is needed.
It is difficult to control in that it is runny and drips all over the place.
It stains the skin. A product that lasts longer would be great. By that I mean it should hold its color longer and not start to lighten so soon after application.
ProsWorks Fast, Gentle, Gets rid of desired amount of gray
ConsStains Skin, Messy, Drip/Runs, Color doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesApril 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. To help with fading, we recommend using a shampoo made expressly for color treated hair and a conditioner which helps seal in color. Some shampoos or bar soaps can be harsh and actually fade the color from the hair. Water chemistry can also impact color results. Alkaline water can make color fade fast and iron-rich water can make hair turn red.

There are a few home and store remedies to help remove stains from the skin -- any kind of ashes (cigarette, BBQ, fireplace, etc) - mix into a thick paste with a little water, rub onto the stains then wipe away with a damp cloth. You can also try hydrogen peroxide, toothpaste, astringent, cold cream, a hair coloring stain remover (can be found in the hair coloring section of a drug store), or rubbing alcohol.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedApril 3, 2013

Needs more product in bottle

Customer avatar
Jaaymesjh
fromFlorida, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
The product seems to have become thinner (more runnier) as the years have gone by. There seems to be less product in the bottles. It only lasts three weeks before another application is needed.
Otherwise the product works well.
ProsEasy to use, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray
ConsStains Skin, Messy, Drip/Runs, Color doesn't last long enough
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesApril 5, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review regarding Just For Men Shampoo-In Haircolor.

We are sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience. We have not reduced the mixture amount. We recommend using a shampoo made expressly for color treated hair and a conditioner which helps seal in color. Some shampoos or bar soaps can be harsh and actually fade the color from the hair. Water chemistry can also impact color results. Alkaline water can make color fade fast.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMarch 27, 2013

great applicator but product different from original

Customer avatar
charlie2
fromPocono, PA, USA
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
We have used this product for about 15 years, but although I love the new application process, the product is not as good as the original. My husband has to touch up the whole head after he gets out of the shower. After the second application is applied it is fine. Wish we could just skip the extra step and do it once.
ProsEasy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesApril 1, 2013
We want to thank you for your review and your husband, for being a loyal Just For Men user! Over time, we become grayer and may have to go one shade darker for better gray coverage.

When you have a moment, please call us at 1-800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday or 9AM – 1:30PM on Fridays.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedFebruary 12, 2013

If you can find it

Customer avatar
mark7
fromLatrobe, PA 15650, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Monthly
Why is it getting harder to find Sandy Blonde.
Walmart and Giant Eagle does not have it.
CVS and Walgreen's prices are way to high compare to what Walmart does carry. ex Walmart 6.98 CVS over 8
ProsColor looks natural, Works Fast
ConsDrip/Runs
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesFebruary 19, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal Just For Men user but we're very sorry to hear you are having a hard time in locating Sandy Blond.

We recommend you try Rite-Aid. When you have a moment, please call us at 1-800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday or 9AM – 1:30PM on Fridays.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2012

Same shade should be in Touch of Grey

Customer avatar
Blondie
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:100%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
I use this color but try to use it lightly to try to get the look of Touch of Grey. I try not to hit the sides much. I wish that they made this shade in the Touch of Grey format.
ProsColor looks natural, Works Fast
ConsGets rid of too much gray
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Just For Men Haircolor - Sandy Blond
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 12, 2012

This procduct is good, but only last for a short time

Customer avatar
Adonis
fromSarasota, FL
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:20%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been usin JFM for about 6 years. I use it mainly around my temples while still leaving some grey. The coloring only lasts for abot 2-3 weeks. I use shampoo and conditioner meant to preserve color, but even then does not work. I went to a beauty shop to get an opinion & they said packaged products do not last too long. I have a minimal area to cover on the side of my head and temple area. I use Sandy Blond.
ProsEasy to use, Color looks natural, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesAugust 15, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review regarding Just For Men.

For long-lasting coverage, we recommend you switch to Dark Blond/Lightest Brown for 3 - 4 minutes to avert dark results. You can adjust your waiting time, if necessary.

We invite you to call us at 800-431-2610 for product assistance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>