Customer reviews for Just For Men Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black

Just For Men Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black

No mixing, no mess. Radically easy to use. Just comb in, wait 10 minutes, rinse out. Foolproof: stops at your target color flawlessly every time. Our gentlest hair color ever - no ammonia, no peroxide.
Overall rating:
4.03 / 5
4
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
Recommended by 51 out of 6776%of reviewers loved this product!
Customer reviews for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Review 1 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 16, 2014

this product as great coverage

Customer avatar
pammy
fromKentucky,USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:60%
Length of Use:1st Time
Frequency of use:Yearly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
All
All
All
JUST FOR MEN Auto stop has great coverage it color all the gray without over coloring i like the fact that it shuts its self off in 10 mintues so that prevents over coloring i would recommend it to any body i recived this product free to test and review opinions are 100% my own
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 19, 2014

works great

Customer avatar
Mike220
fromlong beavh, ca.
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I have been using just for men for years... love it .. it works great for me
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Color doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 2, 2014

Best product ever !!

Customer avatar
Fairo
fromMobile,Al
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:60%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
All
All
All
I've been using Just for Men for 5 years and I am completely satisfied by the results. I love the short time that it takes to develop.I will continue to use this color. I can't think of anything better!
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 30, 2014

good product

Customer avatar
Johnny9
fromLa Habra
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
recommended product to most of my friends but it is highly priced.
ProsColor looks natural, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2014

Does what it's supposed to, w/out the smell

Customer avatar
mike58
fromFederal Way, WA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:40%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
This product works great, only one thing negative to say, it stains the skin and almost everything it comes in contact with.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Color doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 25, 2014

This product is easy to use and results in more natural color.

Customer avatar
JoseA
fromKenosha WI
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
Compared to the original this is more naturally colored. Easier to use but that was not so much a determining factor. However, I do notice that the color fades out faster requiring applications more often. For this reason I am more likely to use the original beard and mustache color vs the auto stop.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 22, 2014

this product covers grey

Customer avatar
frankieg51
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product best out there doesn't last very long
ProsEasy to use, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Messy, Color doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 21, 2014

very easy to use

Customer avatar
twistedt
frompa
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:90%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
easy to use but it is better if u have someone help u.
ProsGentle, Makes hair feel better, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Too Dark, too big a bottle for partially bald men
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 21, 2014

EXCELLENT HAIR COLOR PRODUCT FOR MEN

Customer avatar
STEVOS
fromSUFFOLK COUNTY, NY
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NEVER DISAPPOINTED WITH THE RESULTS AND EASY TO USE.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 11, 2014

99% coverage

Customer avatar
Richard76
fromCelebration, FL, USA
Age:35-44
Percentage of Grey:40%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
Easy to use, covers nearly all gray. You may still get a few strands here and there. Color lasts until next haircut reveals the roots.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
ConsStains Skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 7, 2014

Works Great

Customer avatar
fas5150
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:70%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
Thus product was easy to use colors great and will use again
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Works Fast, Long Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 7, 2014

Autostop was easy to use.

Customer avatar
Gofish
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
This product was easy to use, no mess and just wait 10 min. and wash out.
Color lasted longer than the regular brand.
ProsEasy to use, No Mess, Color looks natural
ConsStains Skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMay 4, 2014

Dyes towels and pillow cases as well.

Customer avatar
Zoblo
fromToronto, ON, Canada
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
All
All
All
The colour comes off with every washing of hair for the first seven days and spoils towels and pillow cases. The colour also starts to fade from third week onwards.
Otherwise it is easy to apply although the comb like applicator is inconvenient to use. I will probably continue using this product.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, Too Dark, colour leaches into linen for a week
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedApril 27, 2014

I'm done with just for men

Customer avatar
cvande
fromTexas, USA
Age:35-44
Percentage of Grey:20%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Very Little
All
Very Little
I've used this product many times over the past 10 years, or so to cover gray, and the results have been inconsistent at best. I've used the original "Real Black" and sometimes I get flat, pitch black, or a softer black, but has unnatural violet/red tones. I've tried AutoStop and found it only covered the gray for 2-3 weeks at best, when permanent means 6-8, typically. This last time Autostop didn't cover any gray at all, but dyed my scalp a dark-purpley color. Had to buy haircolor remover, and re-dye hair. I've used Grecian 5 in the past, and with consistent, lasting results. It's at CVS where I am. You may have better luck with women's home color, bcuz I don't trust this 5-10 min stuff.
ProsEasy to use, Works Fast
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesApril 30, 2014
We can only imagine how frustrating and disappointing this experience was for you. Your comments will help us to evaluate and improve our products and services. We would love to talk to you to find out why this happened. When you have a moment, please call us at 1-800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday or 9AM – 1:30PM on Fridays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedFebruary 5, 2014

easy to use no prob

Customer avatar
zenabutt
fromnew orleans
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:40%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
kinda costley when used every 3 weeks could use more coupons
ProsGentle, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
ConsDrip/Runs
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 29, 2013

No more clock watching

Customer avatar
dm1957
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trying to keep track of time was a drag and confusing.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Drip/Runs
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 11, 2013

Good product

Customer avatar
DaKing
fromSanta Barbara, CA, USA
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
Only thing I would suggest is that the gloves are bigger
ProsGets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Color doesn't last long enough, Doesn't get rid of enough gray, Too Dark
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 11, 2013

I love the new version of just for men, in the tube it's easier handle, less mess, it drys faster, I don't have to do day-to-day application.

Customer avatar
Delano
fromSouth Pasadena, Florida
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just for men is genuine product, it does a great job. I would recommend to anyone who is graying. It takes me back to my youth---it helps to maintain and enhance my youthfulness.
ProsEasy to use, No Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting, it does a formable job
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 4, 2013

good

Customer avatar
willie55
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very easy to use, it looks so natural and work fast.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Doesn't get rid of enough gray
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Just For Men AutoStop - Real Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 4, 2013

ease of use is key for me. Used to use shampoo in version, but find the comb much easier and less color left on skin!

Customer avatar
DAC62
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:70%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I love the product & use it to color my boyfriend's hair regularly. comb-in process is much easier than the shampoo in version and using my gloved hands/fingers.
Not sure I am convinced re shuts off when target color reached. Not sure I understand that part really. I just apply like I always did any of the Just for Men products and let it sit on hair a few minutes after I have covered the entire head of hair.
ProsEasy to use, No Mess, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsStains Skin, Color doesn't last long enough, Too Dark
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>