Customer reviews for Just For Men Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown

Just For Men Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown

No mixing, no mess. Radically easy to use. Just comb in, wait 10 minutes, rinse out. Foolproof: stops at your target color flawlessly every time. Our gentlest hair color ever - no ammonia, no peroxide.
Overall rating:
3.876 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(170 reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 170 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
13
1 Star
21
Recommended by 124 out of 16376%of reviewers loved this product!
Customer reviews for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Review 1 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJuly 13, 2014

Comes off on pillow and smell does not wash out of hair

Customer avatar
MikesDad
fromPortland, OR, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Weekly
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Very Little
All
Very Little
I don't know what has happened but I went from being a satisfied customer for many years to I won't buy the stuff again. The old two part formula started turning my hair bright orange, the new "autostop" darkens the naturally colored hair and not the gray. It comes off on the pillow and it smells like it came right out of the tube no matter how many times I wash my hair. I think the only solution at this point is to buzz my head. What a mess!
ProsMakes hair feel better
ConsDrip/Runs, Color doesn't last long enough, Doesn't get rid of enough gray, Too Dark, Too Light, stains my pillow, smell won't wash out
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJuly 12, 2014

This product scared me after application.

Customer avatar
JMLIV
Color Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
I bought the Light Brown (the shade I always use with JFM Original) but it immediately turned jet black after application. I shampooed it out after two minutes and the shade was really nice but I hate to think what it might have been after ten minutes. Would not recommend at this time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJune 26, 2014

my wife bought this by accident - no work

Customer avatar
tbronson
fromAlaska, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
she bought A35 insted of m35, yikes!! what a terrible product this is. I set there for 10 minutes with this black goo on my hair , then rinsed it out like ive done for years with th M35. It didnt color my gray spots at all. So I tryed it again the next day , since she bought two of them . Same results . Im going to make sure to get the M35 from now on . I Want A Refund. I hope tjis product has been taken off the market. Stick to what works.
ProsEasy to use
ConsMessy, Doesn't get rid of enough gray
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedJune 13, 2014

Way too dark

Customer avatar
williaca
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:Over 65
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:1st Time
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
All
All
All
I have used the old pre-active air product many times. The old 5 minute rule on the instructions worked well. The new 10 minute rule is simply too dark. Also, the new product is very messy. With the active air ingredient, I think the touch of gray is better. However, there really needs to be a light brown product instead of a light-medium brown combo. I've gotten to the point where the Just for Men products have changed so much that I'm not comfortable with the results. I'm better off just letting my hair go gray.
ConsMessy, Gets rid of too much gray, Too Dark
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Just for MenBy Consumer ResourcesJune 16, 2014
We are sorry to hear you are not happy with the Air Activ technology in AutoStop. We'd like to inform you Just For Men Haircolor in the Original Formula ("pre-active air product") is still available in Light Brown.

For more information on product usage, give us a call at -800-431-2610 between 9AM – 5PM Monday to Thursday EST or 9AM – 1:30PM EST on Fridays.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedMay 29, 2014

'Auto Stop' - Not - At least in my case.

Customer avatar
FloridaSandman
fromFlorida
Percentage of Grey:40%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Yearly
Color Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
All
All
All
70 y/o, w/m, very long hair, 40% grey - Have used 'Touch of Grey' for years. Tried this, and, like that battery bunny - it just kept going, and going, and going. Waited 10 min. and washed. Hair was darker than it was when I was 20. May have been me, may by my hair, may have just been the specific box I bought. Other reviews are high praise. Sorry, not for me. Went back to original 'Touch of Grey'. IMHO
ProsEasy to use, Makes hair feel better, Works Fast
ConsGets rid of too much gray, Too Dark, did not stop darkening.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2014

Very good and worth using.

Customer avatar
Salsa
fromS. California
Age:Over 65
Percentage of Grey:60%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
Let set for only 5 minutes instead of 10 minutes. Produces a desirable shade close to my natural color.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Works Fast
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2014

This product works

Customer avatar
Doughboy
fromWindham, ME, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I only have gray hair around the sides and on my side burns and the top of my hair is light brown. When I use auto stop it takes the gray away and blends in perfectly with the light brown on the top. I love this product.
ProsEasy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting, makes me feel better
Consthe comb is not easy to clean and gets clogged
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2014

Good stuff

Customer avatar
StevieRay
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
Looks good and keeps me looking younger. Now you need it to help grow hair too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2014

This product works great and very easy to use.

Customer avatar
gilmiami
fromMiami, FL, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:70%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
This product is very easy to use. It gets the grey out and the color matching is very good. I loved that in ten minutes your done and the hair looks great.
ProsEasy to use, Works Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 22, 2014

Love that it doesn't irratate my head like other products for the 1st few days.

Customer avatar
Bricks
fromNorth Charleroi, PA, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this product. My friends tell me how young I look and they don't even realize I am using it.
ProsGentle, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 7, 2014

this a great product

Customer avatar
workaholic62
fromFriendswood, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I have been using just for men for at least 15 years and this auto stop is the very best
ProsEasy to use, No Mess, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 30, 2014

Great product but too expensive !

Customer avatar
ErnieG
fromNokomis, FL
Age:Over 65
Percentage of Grey:50%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AutoStop is an easy to use excellent product.
My only complaint is it is very pricey for an
older retired guy. I only use it quarterly now
because of the price.
ProsEasy to use, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
ConsStains Skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedApril 4, 2014

To Dark

Customer avatar
inthedark
fromCalifornia, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:60%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I used just for men light brown for years and loved the results, I was able to control by the time I left it in. Walmart did not have any this time so I tried your auto-stop light brown. Everything went well and it did get really dark during application but your instructions said not to worry. Well, after my shampoo, my hair was still dark. I would say between a dark light brown to a dark brown. I don't think my hair has ever been that dark.
I did not appreciate the numerous stares and felt really uncomfortable around people. I will never buy this product again and if I can't find the other JFM product then you lost a past loyal customer.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Works Fast
ConsGets rid of too much gray, Too Dark
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedMarch 27, 2014

Didn't like results

Customer avatar
LiamS
fromCT
Age:45-54
Percentage of Grey:60%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
Almost All
All
Almost All
I used auto stop 2 or 3 times the last few months of 2012. The color initially was too dark and then become reddish. I went back to original formula. People commented on how dark my hair was. In the sun it could look orange. Two people commented on how I must be Irish. It looks like there are more color choices now but I am hesitant to try again. I switched to original JFM ash brown and have been happy with the color but it is getting hard to find. I hope it is not being discontinued.
ProsEasy to use
ConsColor doesn't last long enough, Too Dark
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedFebruary 3, 2014

Excellent product.

Customer avatar
Dennis3
fromRochester, NY, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product that is fast and easy to use. Gray coverage could be a little better but all in all an excellent product that I use and recommend.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Works Fast, Long Lasting
ConsDoesn't get rid of enough gray
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 16, 2014

Easy to use and fast. Color does seem to fad too soon.

Customer avatar
sea870
fromArkansas, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:80%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
Comb it in where needed. Fast and easy. A person needs to be careful with drips and touching items that can stain. Can stain shower surround so be careful on rinsing and check the surround before getting out.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsMessy, Color doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 16, 2014

So easy!

Customer avatar
Mooser
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:40%
Length of Use:Less Than 1 Year
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Coverage
None
A lot
All
A lot
This product is easy to use. Even though it is "auto stop", we find that keeping it on a few minutes longer than the recommended 5 minutes gives us better coverage.
ProsEasy to use, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray
ConsStains Skin, Color doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 15, 2014

Easy to Use

Customer avatar
Gary50
fromClayton, NC, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:100%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product easy to use, works in 10 minutes and does what it says it will do.
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 4, 2014

where has this product been?

Customer avatar
drmarv
fromCasselberry, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Percentage of Grey:Less than 10%
Length of Use:5 Years or more
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
excellent. I'm so happy that so they discovered a simpler
method of applying Works well and looks good!
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast, Long Lasting
ConsStains Skin, wait 10 min.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 2, 2014

Just For Men AutoStop - Light Brown

Customer avatar
Don55
fromGilbert, AZ, USA
Age:55-64
Percentage of Grey:30%
Length of Use:1-5 Years
Frequency of use:Monthly
Color Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this for one year and no one even knows that I use it....I just don't show my age!
I love it! It is so quick, easy to use and gentle on my hair.
Gray hair never makes anyone look younger! Your hair color makes that happen....to look young!
Thanks,
Don
ProsGentle, Easy to use, No Mess, Makes hair feel better, Color looks natural, Gets rid of desired amount of gray, Works Fast
ConsColor doesn't last long enough
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>